Is Miracle Whip Vegan?

Are Miracle Whip Vegan

Miracle Whip is the brand name for a sauce dressing produced by Kraft Foods. It was created in 1933 as a more affordable alternative to mayonnaise and is sold all through the USA and Canada. Miracle Whip has less fat and lower calories than mayonnaise but contains more sugar and spices (e.g., paprika, garlic and mustard). It is widely used as a base for dips, salad dressing, and sandwich spread. People who switch to a vegan diet may want to know whether they can still consume the dressing or give it up.

Is Miracle Whip vegan? No, Miracle Whip is not vegan, because it contains eggs. However, nowadays it’s possible to find egg-free “miracle whip” that suits people who follow a plant-based diet or are allergic to eggs. Some people also make their own vegan miracle whip in the comfort of their homes.

Since you’ve come to this post, you probably have questions.

  • Is Miracle Whip vegan?
  • Are there Vegan Miracle Whip alternatives?
  • Can I make vegan miracle whip at home?
  • What is the difference between Miracle Whip and Mayonnaise?

Well, keep reading for more details.

Is Miracle Whip Vegan?

Miracle Whip is not a vegan product. It was developed as a cheaper mayonnaise alternative, which is another non-vegan product. Therefore, Miracle Whip is made from much of the same ingredients that make mayonnaise off-limits for plant-based dieters.

When creating a more affordable version of mayo, the manufacturers did not discard the egg component. The egg is a popular ingredient for making dressings and sauces because the yolk possesses a compound called lecithin. The compound is a naturally occurring emulsifying agent that also exists in soy and sunflower oils. Lecithin helps ingredients mix because one side of the molecule draws water whereas the other attracts fat. Hence, it helps ingredients that would otherwise stay separate blend together.

Eggs are useful in forming homogenous solutions and are frequently utilized in stabilizing and thickening foods. Such foods include salad dressings, hollandaise sauces, cakes, ice cream, mayonnaise and béarnaise sauces.

Standard Miracle Whip is made up of the following ingredients:

  • · Water
  • · Soybean oil
  • · Vinegar
  • · Eggs (!)
  • · High-fructose corn syrup (HFCS)
  • · Salt
  • · Modified corn starch
  • · Mustard flour
  • · Dried garlic
  • · Spices
  • · Natural flavour
  • · Potassium sorbate

Miracle Whip Light Dressing contains the following:

  • · Water
  • · High-fructose corn syrup
  • · Sugar
  • · Eggs (!)
  • · Soybean oil
  • · Sucralose
  • · Paprika
  • · Mustard flour
  • · Modified food starch
  • · Spices
  • · Salt
  • · Dried garlic
  • · Natural flavour
  • · Acesulfame potassium
  • · Cellulose
  • · Xanthan gum
  • · Potassium sorbate
  • · Cellulose gel

Lastly, Miracle Whip Dressing with Olive Oil has the following ingredients:

  • · Water
  • · Soybean oil
  • · Canola oils
  • · Egg yolks (!)
  • · Salt
  • · Modified food starch
  • · Sugar
  • · Paprika
  • · Mustard flour
  • · Spices
  • · Garlic
  • · Potassium sorbate
  • · Calcium disodium EDTA

The vegan diet is centred on improving health, helping the environment and reducing animal suffering. Vegans do not consume animal products, which include eggs and dairy. Miracle Whip contains eggs, so it is not suitable for vegans.

Are There Vegan Miracle Whip Alternatives?

Fortunately, nowadays, Vegan Miracle Whip is available on the market to cater to those who follow a 100% plant-based diet. A good example is the Nasoya Vegan NayoWhipped Sandwich Spread, which is a vegan-friendly product that does not contain any eggs. The main ingredients are:

  • · Soymilk
  • · Vinegar
  • · Lemon juice
  • · Xanthan and guar gums
  • · Vitamin B12
  • · Expeller pressed soybean oil
  • · Dried cane syrup
  • · Mustard flour
  • · Paprika
  • · Salt
  • · Turmeric
  • · Natural flavour
  • · Garlic powder
  • · Spices

The NayoWhipped Sandwich Spread has a tangy and sweet taste that is bound to go well with many vegans. It tastes much like the Standard Miracle Whip.

Another alternative to Miracle Whip is vegan mayonnaise. It is readily available on the market. Some examples of Vegan Mayonnaise are: Nayonaise, Hampton Creek Just Mayo, Spectrum Vegan Eggless Mayo, 365 Everyday Value Organic Vegan Mayo and Follow Your Heart’s Vegenaise Eggless Mayo.

Can I Make Vegan Miracle Whip At Home?

Yes, it’s possible to make vegan miracle whip at home. Here are a couple of recipes for vegan miracle whip:

Recipe 1

Ingredients: 170g Mori-Nu Extra Firm Silken Tofu, 2 tablespoons olive oil, 2 tablespoons lemon juice, 2 teaspoons grey Poupon Dijon mustard, ¼ teaspoon salt, 1 tablespoon honey, ¼ tablespoon paprika and ¼ tablespoon turmeric ground.

Directions: Put the ingredients in a food processor and run for one minute. Shut off, scrape down the sides using a spatula, and stir for another 2 to 3 minutes. Season the resulting vegan miracle whip with salt and pepper to taste. The recipe makes about 16 servings.

Recipe 2

Ingredients: ¾ cup silken tofu, ¾ cup flour, 1 cup water, ½ cup sugar, ½ cup vinegar, 2 tablespoons lemon juice, ¾ cup vegetable oil, ½ teaspoon dry mustard.

Directions: Cook the flour, water, sugar and vinegar until the mixture becomes thick. After that, combine the vegetable oil, lemon juice, salt, dry mustard and silken tofu in a blender and mix well. Add the hot flour mixture to the components in the blender and blend.

Recipe 3

Ingredients: ½ cup of plain soy milk, 2 teaspoons white wine vinegar, pinch of paprika, 1 tablespoon superfine sugar, 1 ¼ cup safflower oil, ½ teaspoon mustard powder and 1 ½ teaspoon salt.

Directions: Pour soy milk into a food processor and stir. Gradually drizzle the oil while the processor is running. After all the oil has been incorporated, turn the processor off and scrape down the sides. Finally, add the remaining components and process for a short while to mix well.

Recipe 4

Ingredients: 1 pack of Mori-Nu silken tofu, ¼ cup soy milk powder, 2 tablespoons lemon juice, ½ tablespoons onion powder, 1 teaspoon sea salt, 2 tablespoons canola oil, ¼ garlic powder, and 2 tablespoons turbinado sugar. All the ingredients can be found in a health food store.

Directions: Put all the ingredients in a blender and blend until a smooth mixture is achieved, and then chill it. Store it in the refrigerator for a maximum of two weeks. The homemade vegan miracle whip can be used as a spread or condiment.

What Is The Difference Between Miracle Whip And Mayonnaise?

The main difference between Miracle Whip and mayonnaise is the level of fat. Miracle Whip contains 50% less fat than mayonnaise. Another difference between the two condiments is that Miracle Whip contains more sugar in the form of high-fructose syrup and regular sugar. Mayonnaise contains very minimal sugar. Additionally, miracle whip includes at least 20 different spicy ingredients while mayonnaise has few ingredients.

Miracle Whip also comes cooked while mayonnaise doesn’t undergo any cooking process. Lastly, mayonnaise is slightly greasy compared to Miracle Whip.

Miracle Whip not the same as mayonnaise. The U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) dictates that any product labelled “mayonnaise” should have a minimum of 65% vegetable oil. The percentage is much lower for Miracle Whip, so it does not attain the FDA standard to be called mayonnaise.

During the Depression times, mayonnaise was expensive and only the wealthy could afford it. It was at that time that J L. Kraft and Bros. Co seized the opportunity to introduce Miracle Whip. The new product was dressing with the features of mayonnaise, but with less fat and more sugar. It was introduced in 1933 at Chicago World’s Fair, where millions of people flocked to view the new invention. In just seven months, the Miracle Whip became the top-selling salad dressing in the U.S.

Miracle Whip had a cheaper price to make it affordable for the poor during the Depression. Nowadays, the price of the condiment is almost the same as for mayonnaise.

Uses of Miracle Whip

Miracle Whip is one of the best-selling condiments for salad dressings and sandwich spread. In addition to food, the product can serve other purposes like skincare, hair care and conserving precious metals.

Rubbing some Miracle Whip on one’s feet using a soft washcloth can help to get rid of tired, dead skin. Allow the dressing to sit for around five minutes and then rinse it out with warm water. Greater results can be achieved by adding the product to a tub containing hot water and then soaking the feet.

Furthermore, the sandwich spread can help with soothing sunburn pain, treat minor burns, and tighten pores. Miracle Whip works well at moistening dry skin. Apply it and leave to set for twenty minutes before rinsing it off with warm water, and then cold water.

Additionally, rubbing Miracle Whip on metals such as candle holders, jewellery, brass lamps, vehicle bumpers and sink fixtures is helpful. The condiment contains vinegar, which is great for polishing metals. Simply rub the miracle whip on the metal and leave it for about twenty minutes. Afterwards, wipe the surface with a soft cloth.

Miracle Whip is also excellent for removing cigarette smoke stains on walls. Rub the product on the stained wall and let it sit for 60 minutes. Wipe it away using a soft buffing cloth. It can also be used for eliminating spots on wood furniture and removing tar.

It also works well at conditioning hair. Just apply one-half cup of the Miracle Whip to dry hair once in seven days. The process of application involves leaving the product on for half an hour and then rinsing several times before using shampoo.

Other uses include removing chewing gum stuck on the hair and a ring that’s stuck on a finger. The list of uses of Miracle Whip is endless.

Robert Van De Ville

Robert Van De Ville is a registered nutritionist, he earned his degree in nutrition from California State University. Now based in London UK. An author of the upcoming book, researcher and dedicated vegan activist.

Recent Content

link to Are Scallops Vegan?

Are Scallops Vegan?

We always tend to define veganism as strictly avoiding the consumption of animal products and by-products. This is where we miss the point. Vegans adopt different lifestyles depending on what drove them to veganism. It could be to advocate for animal welfare, health reasons, to protect the ecosystem, or for religious reasons. However, the title […]
link to Is Calcium Chloride Vegan?

Is Calcium Chloride Vegan?

One commonly used ingredient in food production is calcium chloride. It’s used as an additive to firm and coagulate a wide variety of foods, including soft drinks, canned food, and in tofu production, as well as in food processing, just to name a few. Calcium chloride can also be used for industrial purposes like deicing […]