Is Chicken Broth Vegan?

Is chicken broth vegan

Did you know that every vegan saves about 200 animals every year? There are many reasons to go vegan. It is not just about losing weight. Some of my favourite reasons for being vegan include; increasing energy levels, saving the planet, and saving animals. Even though it is a healthy and fulfilling lifestyle, there are lots of questions surrounding it. You may be confused about vegan meals. Keep reading to find out if the chicken broth is vegan.

Is chicken broth vegan? No, it is not. By definition, veganism is completely avoiding the use of animal products. Since chicken broth contains solids and fluids obtained from chicken, it is not vegan.

Are you trying to transition to a vegan lifestyle? You may have lots of questions. Chicken broth is one of the most common broths and you are probably wondering if you can continue to enjoy it. In this article, I will try to answer the question and make the process easy for you. Keep reading to learn more about what chicken broth contains and whether it is suitable for your new lifestyle.

phenq_EN_T_Taiylah-600x300-GTB

Is Chicken Broth Vegan?

Chicken broth is not acceptable for vegans or vegetarians. It may be appropriate for pollotarians as they consume poultry. The main reason why chicken broth is not vegan is that it is an animal product. Some would argue that it is technically just a few compounds from chicken and not chicken meat. However, that still goes against the rules of veganism.

Veganism is about rejecting the use of animals as commodities. This means that you can’t consume any of their by-products. Veganism is like vegetarianism but stricter. Its definition completely rules out the consumptions of chicken broth and any other foods that are processed from animal products.

Even though vegans can’t consume chicken broth, it is completely fine from certain groups of semi-vegetarians. Some plant-based diets allow an occasional consumption of meat or meat products. Most flexible vegetarians consume chicken broth. Pollotarians can consume chicken but they can’t consume other types of meat.

Vegans don’t just have to avoid chicken broth. They also have to watch out for animal ingredients. Some of them include;

  • Egg wash on baked foods
  • Natural flavours usually obtained from dairy or chicken-mostly found in potato chips
  • Gelatin which is used in many sweets
  • Confectioner’s glaze made from bugs

Vegans can eat foods that ‘may contain’ animal products. If food doesn’t contain chicken but ‘may contain’ traces of chicken, it is not a problem. The label doesn’t mean that the manufacturer adds chicken to the product sometimes. It simply means that the food is produced in a facility that also produces chicken products. There is a slight chance of cross-contamination. The label is meant to help people with allergies.

There are lots of alternatives to chicken and chicken products. Protein alternatives include; nuts, soya beans, and vegan yoghurts.

Even though chicken broth and chicken stock are often used interchangeably, they are different. They have different thickness and they are made from different ingredients. Chicken stock is made from chicken bones. It is not seasoned. Chicken broth is thin and is usually seasoned. It is made with chicken meat. They are both non-vegan options as they both contain animal products.

Fortunately, there are a few alternatives for chicken broth. You can replace it with a plant-based substitute. When I was learning to cook vegan food, I did not know how plant-based alternatives could give the same taste like chicken broth. However, I have learned that vegan options can have a similar depth of flavour. There are lots of options in the market and it is easy to find one that works.

Vegan options are not completely made with synthetic ingredients as most people think. They contain onion, garlic, thyme, and other spice. The concentration of synthetic ingredients is often negligible. Reading the label carefully ensures that you know exactly what you are consuming. Another option is to use vegetable broth, mushroom broth, herbs, or aromatic vegetables.

phenq_EN_V2_banner-600x300

What are the benefits of a Vegan Diet?

A vegan diet has plenty of benefits. It is known to help people maintain a healthy weight. Obese people can use the diet to lose weight and avoid heart diseases, diabetes, and high blood pressure. Other benefits of the diet include;

phenq_EN_T_April-600x300-Style3

It is Rich in Certain Nutrients

I suggest that you adopt a vegan lifestyle if you want to introduce certain nutrients to the body. A whole-grain vegan diet, for example, encourages the consumption of whole grains, plant proteins, fruits, and vegetables. Vegan foods are rich in fiber, magnesium, vitamins A and C, and antioxidants.

It Can Reduce the Pain of Arthritis

If you have arthritis, a vegan diet can help you alleviate the pain. It improves energy levels and promotes recovery.

It Improves Kidney Function and Lowers Blood Sugar Levels
A vegan diet can be beneficial for those with type 2 diabetes and poor kidney health. Most vegans have a low risk of getting type 2 diabetes. They are unlikely to develop further medical issues.

It Protects Against Certain Cancers

Reports by the World Health Organization suggest that about a third of all cancers can be prevented by diet changes. Did you know that legumes can reduce the risk of getting colorectal cancer by up to 18%? Increasing your consumption of fruits and vegetables can reduce the chance of dying from cancer. Most animal products increase the chance of contracting cancer.

Improved Mood

Did you know that your eating habits can affect your mood? A vegan diet can boost your mood and improve your energy levels. According to studies by the Physicians Committee for Responsible Medicine, eating plant foods can reduce the symptoms of depression.

Healthier Skin

Eating a plant-based diet can improve the health of your skin. Dairy, for example, has always been linked to acne and skin problems. A vegan diet can help you get a youthful and glowing skin.

phenq_EN_V2_banner-600x300

What do Vegans Eat?

Vegans cannot eat eggs, dairy, or meat. So what do they eat? There are lots of options. Some of the foods they can eat include; fruits, vegetables, grains and nuts. Avoiding animal products does not mean that your diet has to be boring. Most of the common dishes can be adjusted to suit the vegan lifestyle. Some of them include; vegetable burgers, bean burritos, and sandwiches. For entrees, meat can be substituted with lentils, nuts, tofu, or seitan.

Instead of dairy products, vegans can consume plant milk. There are lots of vegan meats, vegan cheeses, and plant-based sweeteners. Vegans have a wide variety of food to enjoy. In my opinion, adopting a vegan lifestyle is a lot easier than most people think. There are plenty of alternatives to meat products. If you are curious about the vegan lifestyle, consider taking supplements to make sure that your body gets all the nutrients it needs. The secret is to make your diet as varied as you can.

There are many protein options for your vegan diet. They include; peas, tofu, almonds, lentils, broccoli, peanut butter, and soy. Sources of fat include coconut oil and avocado. For calcium, vegans can eat dark green vegetables, orange juice, and calcium-fortified soy milk. Vegan diets are generally low in calcium. Vegans should increase their intake of calcium-fortified milk and yoghurts. Most of them also contain vitamin B12 and vitamin D.

I enjoy most of the common foods with a twist that makes them vegan. Some of my favourite options include; pizza without cheese, vegetable burgers, and bean tacos with no cheese or lard.

The Challenges of Being Vegan

Even though the vegan lifestyle is fulfilling, it comes with plenty of challenges. Some of the biggest challenges that I face include;

· Eating Out

Eating out is a challenge for most vegans. Even though there are vegan restaurants in most cities, they can be rare in smaller towns. You may be surprised to find out that some restaurants do not understand what a vegan diet entails. The solution is to research before going to a restaurant. Find their menu online and see if it has any vegan options.

· Judgement From Other Vegans

Even though most vegans are supportive, some of them can be very judgmental. When starting my vegan journey, I had trouble dealing with harsh comments and criticism from fellow vegans.

· Food Shopping

Shopping for vegan food can be a challenge. You have to read labels to make sure that there are no non-vegan ingredients. What should be a brief period of shopping can end up lasting for hours. The good part about it is that you will always know what you are eating.

· Being In Social Settings

Having to be in social settings can be a real challenge for vegans. Even though I try not to bring it up, it always comes up. Plenty of people are offended by my food options. Others assume that you are judging them for their food options and automatically become defensive. In some instances, they may not have any vegan food options.

· Cravings for Meat Products

Even after choosing a vegan lifestyle, it is common to struggle with cravings for meaty flavours. In the beginning, it is common to slip and take something that you shouldn’t. At the start, I would crave cheese and grilled meat. Fortunately, there are lots of vegan options that can beat the cravings.

Robert Van De Ville
About Robert Van De Ville 61 Articles
Robert Van De Ville is a registered nutritionist, he earned his degree in nutrition from California State University. Now based in London UK. An author of the upcoming book, researcher and dedicated vegan activist.

You might like:


Are Scallops Vegan
vegan food

Are Scallops Vegan?

We always tend to define veganism as strictly avoiding the consumption of animal products and by-products. This is where we

Is Calcium chloride Vegan
vegan food

Is Calcium Chloride Vegan?

One commonly used ingredient in food production is calcium chloride. It’s used as an additive to firm and coagulate a

Is Sherpa Vegan
Vegan Clothing

Is Sherpa Vegan?

Sherpa, also known as faux shearling, is a type of fabric made from polyester or a blend of polyester with

Is Glycerine Vegan
Uncategorized

Is Glycerin Vegan?

People make the decision on why to become vegan for a range of different reasons, from moral concerns about the

Is Tempura Vegan?
vegan food

Is Tempura Vegan?

With the modern prevalence of veganism, many restaurants now cater for vegans with a variety of menu items, and most

is Splenda Vegan
vegan food

Is Splenda Vegan?

Many kitchens now use artificial sweeteners and Splenda is one of them. Artificial sweeteners are thought to be healthier than