Even though vegan diets are popular for helping with weight loss, they have many other benefits. They help you maintain a healthy heart, regulate cholesterol levels, and avoid diseases such as type 2 diabetes and high blood pressure. Other benefits of a vegan lifestyle include; improving kidney function, preventing certain cancers, and improving energy levels. If you like Triscuits, you may be wondering if they suit your vegan lifestyle. In this article, I will explain if Triscuits are vegan
Are Triscuits vegan? The answer is yes and no. even though there are vegan Triscuits, others are not. Vegan Triscuits are made from plant oils, whole grain wheat, and sea salt. Non-vegan Triscuits may have precursors from animal products.
Triscuits are a cracker brand. Their texture is like shredded wheat cereal and they come in a wide variety. I get lots of questions about whether the cracker is vegan. Like most snack foods, Triscuits are available in many flavours. You may be wondering which flavours are vegan and which ones are not. Keep reading to learn more.
Are Triscuits Vegan?
Triscuits come in various flavours. Some of them have questionable ingredients but most of the flavours are vegan. Non-vegan triscuits may have additives such as disodium guanylate and disodium inosinate. The additives are derived from fish. Some of the vegan varieties include;
- Whole Grain Wheat Reduced-Fat
The ingredients of this vegan flavour are; whole-grain wheat, seat salt, and vegetable oil. The packaging material has BHT to keep it fresh.
- Whole Grain Wheat Original
The ingredients are; canola or soybean oil, sea salt, and whole-grain wheat
- Whole Grain Wheat Garden Herb
This flavour has vegan ingredients. It contains; dried carrots, whole grain wheat, onion powder, garlic powder, vegetable oil, parsley flakes, salt, and autolyzed yeast extract.
- Whole grain Wheat Hint of Salt
The ingredients of this flavour are; sea salt, whole grain wheat, and vegetable oil.
- Whole Grain Wheat Balsamic Vinegar & Basil
Even though this flavour has many ingredients, they are all vegan. It contains; whole-grain wheat, natural flavour with celery, paprika extract, vegetable oil, sea salt, onion powder, salt, dried malt vinegar, sugar, dried balsamic vinegar, yeast extract, Sodium Diacetate, tomato powder, citric acid, spices, juice powder, extra virgin olive oil, red beet juice powder, and dried malt vinegar.
- Whole Grain Wheat Cracked Pepper &Olive Oil
The ingredients for this flavour are; onion powder, whole grain wheat, citric acid, vegetable oil, black pepper, garlic powder, natural flavour, salt, olive oil, and Maltodextrin.
- Brown Rice & Wheat Sea Salt & Black Pepper
The ingredients of this flavour are; distilled white vinegar, long-grain brown rice, garlic powder, black pepper, whole grain wheat, natural flavour, onion powder, vegetable oil, black pepper, sea salt, and Maltodextrin.
- Brown Rice & Wheat Sweet Potato &Roasted Onion
The ingredients are; long-grain brown rice, citric acid, whole grain wheat, yeast extract, distilled white vinegar, dried sweet potato, sea salt, vegetable oil, dried parsley, brown sugar, onion powder, dried molasses, sweet potato powder, garlic powder, sweet potato powder, and natural flavours.
- Minis Original
The ingredients of Minis Original are; vegetable oil, whole grain wheat, and sea salt.
- Whole Grain Wheat Rosemary & Olive Oil
Its ingredients are; whole-grain wheat, onions, spices, vegetable oil, olive oil, Maltodextrin, salt, natural flavours, sugar, and autolyzed yeast extract.
- Brown Rice & Wheat Roasted Red Pepper & Red Bean
The ingredients for this flavour are; whole-grain wheat, long-grain brown rice, garlic powder, tomato powder, vegetable oil, sea salt, red bell pepper powder, paprika extract, Torula yeast, red beans, sugar, onion powder, natural Mesquite smoke flavour, and natural flavours.
I suggest that you check the ingredients before enjoying your favourite Triscuit flavours. Some of them may have non-vegan flavour enhancers. They may be made from fish or meat.
Even though finding vegan snacks can be a challenge, Triscuits give you a lot of options.
Buying Vegan Snacks
Finding vegan snacks can be a challenge if you aren’t getting them from speciality stores. Fortunately, adopting a vegan lifestyle does not mean that you have to give up snacks. There are lots of tasty vegan snacks. There is a wide variety of plant foods that can serve as snacks. The following are some of my favourite vegan snacks.
- Fruit and Nut Butter
I blend nuts and fruits to make a tasty and healthy snack. It is a good source of fiber, minerals, and vitamins. Some of the fruits I use include; apples, mangoes, and bananas. I blend them with peanut butter, cashew, or almond.
- Roasted Chickpeas
Chickpeas are tasty and healthy. They are rich in iron, manganese, proteins, and magnesium. I make my roasted chickpeas at home. Bake them and add vegan seasonings of your choice.
- Oatmeal With Nuts and Fruits
Even though oatmeal is commonly used as a breakfast food, I enjoy it as a snack. It is rich in iron, magnesium, vitamins and fiber. I combine it with seeds, fruits, and nuts to make it rich and improve nutritional value.
I make my guacamole with avocado, chopped onions, lime juice, tomatoes, and salt. I use it as a dip for whole-grain crackers.
- Banana Bites with Peanut Butter
This popular vegan snack is just as tasty as it is healthy. Bananas are full of potassium and peanut butter is a good source of fats and proteins. I serve this snack frozen.
- Trail Mix
This vegan snack is full of flavour and nutrients. It is made with whole grains, chocolate, coconut, dried fruit, seeds, and nuts. I combine these ingredients at home for a convenient vegan snack.
- Vegetable Salad
Vegetable salads are healthy and convenient snacks. I make mine with cucumbers, tomatoes, radishes, onions, lettuce leaves, fresh basil, and minced garlic.
Edamame is soya beans that are not yet mature. I serve mine with some sea salt. It is just as tasty as it is nutritious. Edamame is one of my favourite sources of plant protein. I make mine by steaming the pods.
- Green Smoothies
You can make green smoothies using fruits and vegetables. They are filling, tasty, and nutritious. Green smoothies are rich in minerals. To make mine, I use bananas, spinach, and some kale. A handful of chia seeds makes the smoothies tastier and more nutritious.
- Dark Chocolate with Some Dried Coconut
This is one of the tastiest vegan snacks. It is healthy and appropriate for vegans with sweet teeth. I use dark chocolate with at least 65% cacao content. Note that some dark chocolates may not be vegan. Check the label before making your purchase.
What are the Health Benefits of Triscuits?
Triscuits are a great party snack and they have lots of health benefits. The benefits you enjoy depend on the flavour you choose. There are different ingredients for different Triscuits. The snacks pack quite the punch in every two-inch square. Every two-inch squares serving has zero grams of cholesterol, no sugar, and zero grams of Trans fat.
They are rich in whole grains and fiber. Some of its benefits include;
- The high fiber content may reduce the risk of contracting diabetes, certain types of cancer, and heart disease
- The high fiber content helps with conditions related to colon function. It is good for treating diverticulosis, haemorrhoids, and constipation
- It may help you maintain a healthy weight
- Triscuits have whole grains which slow digestion keeping you filled for long hours
- If you consume at least three servings of whole grains daily, you have a reduced risk of heart disease and type 2 diabetes
- The whole-grains in Triscuits give you combined health protection. They are full of minerals, fiber, and phytochemicals that can help the body fight diseases.
- Triscuits have high levels of antioxidants called polyphenols. They prevent damage to cells which may lead to cancer. The antioxidants are present in the outer layer of whole grains.
Always read the nutritional label on the package of your Triscuits and make your choice. There are plenty of ways to consume Triscuits – some of them include:
- Breaking them and serving over salads
- Serving Triscuits over chilli or soup
- Crushing them and sprinkling over vegetables
- Chopping them with cinnamon, toasted nuts, and some corn syrup
- Mixing them with peanuts
- Breaking them into small bite-size pieces
What Can’t Vegans Eat?
Vegans can eat anything that is not derived from animals or animal products. The vegan lifestyle promotes health, ethics, and care for the environment. Some of the foods that vegans should avoid include;
- Animal Foods
Vegans must avoid animal foods including; poultry, dairy, eggs, all types of meat, fish, bee products, and dairy. Vegans do not only avoid animal flesh but also by-products of animals.
- Ingredients and Additives That are Made with Animal Products
Vegans cannot consume foods with additives and ingredients that contain animal products. Some of the ingredients to look out for include;
- Some Additives
Food additives that contain animal products include; E901, E120, E322, E904, E631, AND E542.
Isinglass is made from fish bladders. It is commonly found in wine and beer.
The additive is made from insect by-products. Many food products use it as a natural dye
This thickening agent is made from the bones and skin of pigs and cows
- Natural Flavorings
Some natural flavourings may be non-vegan. Castoreum, for example, is derived from the anal glands of beavers.
Shellac is commonly used as a food glaze. It is derived from the lac insect which makes it non-vegan.
Vegans can eat anything as long as it does not contain animals or their by-products. Even though vegan foods are generally healthy, some of them should be consumed in moderation. I suggest that you limit your consumption of these foods; vegan candy and ice cream, some sweetened dairy-free milk, vegan cheese, vegan meat, and vegan sweeteners. Some of them may have a high concentration of sugar or additives. Natural foods are a lot healthier.